Walk With Me (A Wolf Lives In Me) [my growing pains] (Part 7)

I feel like I need to do this…

Like, I just don’t get why people try to change other people like they’re God; like it’s their place to do so. And I don’t get why people are so quick to judge someone before they really know the person… ah… to each his own, man… Just know that God’s got you (Matthew 7:1-3).

But I got something to say for myself…

318728.jpg
Verse One: Just in case you thought you knew me; I’m introducing the new me/ Sinking my teeth inside these bars, can you feel me? That’s the wolf in me/ I’m wild and I’m free; your opinions cannot hold me down/ No muzzle on my mouth; the whole world gon’ hear me when I howl//

I ain’t attacking nobody, but here’s some facts for somebody/ Man, if you think you gon’ stop me, oh God, I’m catching a body/ I’ve finally learned to love myself, regardless of my flaws/ And if you think that I’m a weirdo, then I’ll be that and I’ll give my all//

I’m an animal, a carnivore; I’m full of the Word/ I’m into meat, I’m ’bout this life; in fact it’s all I prefer/ Ain’t saying that I ain’t down to learn; just telling you, “I know my Father”/ If you’re trying to redirect me; might as well not even bother//

I’m in my zone, where I belong; I thrive in here, I’ve found my home/ Growing on the daily, you can check my fangs, look how they’ve grown/ That’s faith I’m talking ’bout; boy, I ain’t going astray/ I pick my teeth with your opinions then I throw’em away//

dark-wolf-zexon-gothic-anime.jpg
Verse Two: Now for them folk that wann’a judge me, before they get to know me/ I’m not a savage, ’cause I’m snapping; it’s a habit I like to show my teeth/ Got this cross on my back, I’ve turned away from my past/ I had to find me a new life; break away from the old wolf pack//

I’m a different wolf, not a lone one – a new creature, I know the Son/ Used to be angry all the time, like, “why so serious”, now I have fun/ But just because I’m Christian, doesn’t mean I’m perfect/ I’m striving to get where I’m supposed to be; I’m always working//

Don’t judge me by appearance, I know that I look like “him”/ We might have similar features but I promise you, I’m not them/ My intentions ain’t the same, thank God my motives have been change/ All that filth had to fall away; He walked through the flames// 

If you look into my eyes you can see a different passion/ This desire won’t die; ’cause I’m hunting for something everlasting/ Chasing glory, after glory and I got my teeth ready/ But I know some folks is out there plotting; God, reveal the traps they set for me//

Now, this is not a “threat” to anyone or anything like that (I guess in a way it is… kind of) but this is me letting anyone know ahead of time; before you approach me, trying to convince me of anything or redirect my walk in Christ, just know I’m ready to defend myself. Like I said, I know my Father… so you won’t stand a chance. People have tried and failed… they’ve gotten frustrated and walked away because I refused to listen or “take heed”. And I’m not trying to be “rebellious” or some rule breaker, but if that’s what following the path that God’s set for me makes me, then I’ll take that. My goal is just to fully embrace who I am in Christ, weird and all. I love who I am and I’m gonn’a keep growing in this.

I will never back down from being who God made me to be… I’ve come to far to let anyone convince or tell me that who I am or what I do/how I do it brings offense to God or anything like that. I’ve fought hard to get here! I’ve struggled through the rejection, the abandonment, the ridiculing, the laughing and being the center of people’s jokes and all kinds of other stuff… I was a broken person and din’t know who I was or who I even wanted to be. I was afraid to be myself for so long… But not anymore… And the more I come to embrace me; come to grips with who I really am in Christ, the more aggressive I become towards anyone who tries to shut me down. You will not stop me.

“Let them be put to shame and dishonor who seek after my life! Let them be turned back and disappointed who devise evil against me! Let them be like chaff before the wind, with the angel of the Lord driving them away! Let their way be dark and slippery, with the angel of the Lord pursuing them!

For without cause they hid their net for me; without cause they dug a pit for my life. Let destruction come upon him when he does not know it. And let the net that he hid ensnare him; let him fall into it—to his destruction! Then my soul will rejoice in the Lord, exulting in His salvation. All my bones shall say, “O Lord, who is like you, delivering the poor from him who is too strong for him, the poor and needy from him who robs him?”

Malicious witnesses rise up; they ask me of things that I do not know. They repay me evil for good; my soul is bereft. But I, when they were sick—I wore sackcloth; I afflicted myself with fasting; I prayed with head bowed on my chest. I went about as though I grieved for my friend or my brother; as one who laments his mother, I bowed down in mourning. But at my stumbling they rejoiced and gathered; they gathered together against me; wretches whom I did not know tore at me without ceasing; like profane mockers at a feast, they gnash at me with their teeth.

How long, O Lord, will you look on? Rescue me from their destruction, my precious life from the lions! I will thank you in the great congregation; in the mighty throng I will praise you.” Psalm 35:4-18 (ESV)

Leave a Reply

