I’m The Wolf

When I was a little, one of my aunts used to call me by Mowgli; the kid from Jungle Book… if you don’t know him, here’s a picture of him:

jungle-book-disneyscreencaps-com-2998
Now, here’s why that nickname relates to this post: “Mowgli is a human child, who was found in a basket on the edge of a torn-apart boat as a baby by Bagheera, a black panther, with that fraction of a boat laying on a rock and its rear pointing up. Apparently orphaned, Mowgli was raised by a pack of wolves until he was 10 years old.” (Mowgli’s Story)

071-jungle-c
Do you see where this is going? Maybe? No?

Jeez… (Sighs) Let me explain then…

So, I don’t have like an obsession with wolves or nothing… Really, I don’t (secretly I might). But like they’re my favorite animal(s). Nothing beats a wolf, in my opinion. I’m bias and always will be. I think they are the most beautiful creatures in the world and nobody can convince me otherwise. Sometimes I even imagine myself being one… And I don’t think that’s taking it too far either.

To be honest, if you knew me then you know that I can go a lot further with my wild imagination. So you have no idea. Like, for example; when I’m frustrated or mad, I imagine myself (as a wolf) snarling at the person who made me mad… I’m not even lying… It gets pretty intense too. So you see… I’m weird, right? I told you I was. You might even catch me growling under my breath sometimes just cause I’m imagining things wolf-related.

Anyway, lets get to the topic of discussion…

I’m sure a lot of people have been wondering why my Facebook profile picture and my cover photo have been changed to wolves instead of me… there’s a story to it. Two stories, actually, but I’m only gonn’a tell this one for now… Because the reason for it has more to do with it than just them being my favorite animal or what I do with my imagination though. And tonight, I feel it’s time to let the wolf out of the den (is that even a quote or did I just make that up?).

15085722_1238799862833038_2883330813713436383_n
My Profile Picture
15079038_1237699872943037_5214899608456371251_n
My Cover Photo

And just because this picture is awesome, I wann’a share it too! One of my sisters in Christ sent me this (’cause she knows how much I love wolves):

16144486_1430196053657826_1289708641_n
I think I’m gonn’a use that for something else soon… It’s so beautiful!

Okay, one more picture, I found this one using google:

15400511_1267325073313850_8636003111350237335_n
Of all animals in the world, if I had to choose one to represent who I am, it would be a wolf [hands down]. Why? Because I feel like they are stereotyped, like me… And it sucks for them… or us. People judge the whole wolf community (including me, because I’m a wolf, clearly) based on movies or something they’ve only seen on TV (except I’ve never been on TV or in a movie). They’re often thought of as like savages… But that’s wrong, and here’s why: Are Wolves Dangerous?

And then look at this! It pretty much sums up everything I’ve been trying to say:

Also, check this out if you can… You’ll have to copy and paste the link to get the entire pdf file and see the everything: “From the small number of documented attacks, it can be concluded that the vast majority of wolves do not pose any threat to human safety. A person in wolf country has a greater chance of being killed by a dog, lightning, a bee sting or a car collision with a deer than being injured by a wolf.” (Are Wolves Dangerous To Humans?)

To be clear though, this post is not about me defending the nature of a wolf… ‘Cause even though I have all this stuff to prove a point, I bet you can find something to counter it… but just let me win today. Please? Thanks.

Okay, so, the point I’m trying to make is that like wolves though, I feel like a lot of people judge me before they know me. They quickly assume, “Oh, he’s this way because he’s black (which has been said) or because he said that or does this”.

Sometimes, I just want people to know me… Like, in depth. I would love for people to ask questions and not just assume what is or isn’t just by one or even a few posts. I want people to feel me and understand the passions I have and my heart; where it’s at. But… I don’t have that luxury… at least not with everybody. Maybe it would be too overwhelming if it actually happened to be that way though. Maybe I just need to stick with my small circle… Who knows?

Still, I’ve always enjoyed answering people’s questions about me and showing people who I really am when questions actually come my way. Sometimes they don’t stick around to know more about me; they just scratch the surface… then sometimes I get to take people on a journey all over my world… and they quickly learn that there’s so much more to me than just one conversation and you will not know me based on one conversation. You can try. I mean, unless we just go all day and night talking, then yeah. Okay…

Listen to this song (EPIC POP | ”The Wolves” by Cyrus Reynolds [ft. Keeley Bumford])!

I really like that song so I wanted to share it (even though it might contradict everything I just said about wolves not being so dangerous). It’s Epic Music from one of my favorite channels. It’s the type of music I like to listen to when I write if I’m trying to create a really intense/suspenseful moment or some really epic/crazy action.

One of the books that I’m working on actually has wolves in it… and even misunderstood people who I relate to wolves, as well… Or I call them wolves, using metaphors and stuff like that.

But hey, I said all that I said to say this, if you’re wondering why my profile picture is a wolf, it’s because I’ve embraced who I am, appreciating who I am and I’m still learning and growing in who I am in Christ… I’m being me. I’m weird and goofy. I’m geeky and nerdy… and nobody will change that. I used to hide that side of me because I was afraid that if people saw me act weird or be as goofy as I know I can be, they’d push me away or look at me crazy because they expected me to act differently. But I could care less now. As long as I’m comfortable with who I am, that’s what matters. I’m confident that Jesus loves me for who I am and has molded me into the person over the years. It took a lot of work, conquering the feeling of wanting to belong… But I’ll be a lone wolf if I have to. I love who I am… It took so long for me to finally see that I’m very unique and who I am serves a purpose in this world, somehow.

Now, embrace me and join the pack, or… (growls) get away from me!

Could you imagine me growling when I said to get away from me?! Maybe if you knew my voice you could imagine it… In my mind, I thought about the Beast from Beauty and The Beast; The cartoon version; the original Disney one… not the new movie they’re coming out with… even though he’s not a wolf, I thought it was cool to sound like him.

Anyway… now that you all know that I’m The Wolf, there’s nothing more to say.

Good bye. I had fun putting this together; sharing with you all, who I am. I hope you all enjoyed this post as much as I did! This is me, being me… freely and without mercy.

Until we meet again, watch this video (Lone Wolf – Motivational Video For All Those Fighting Battles Alone) and be blessed!

Oh, wait! Before I go! The whole Mowgli thing! I almost forgot! So the reason I put that in here is because when I was little, I didn’t give much thought to it. I know she called me Mowgli because I was really small and skinny like him… but now, I look at it like this; I never thought it would have such significance on this day! Like, he clearly has a love for wolves since he was raised by them and I really love wolves as well! We appreciate them!

hinh1-1475984845186
So… yeah. Like… me and Mowgli relate!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

